Do you want to know if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp? You might get this doubt if any of your contacts don’t reply to your messages for quite long. Unfortunately, the popular messaging app owned by Facebook doesn’t reveal that information to you directly.
However, you can find out if someone has deleted or blocked you on WhatsApp by following the steps listed below.
Editor’s Note: I have just numbered the options. And, it doesn’t mean that you need to follow the same order.
Step 1: Check if Message is Delivered (Number of Ticks)
First, you need to find out whether your message has been delivered to your contact or not. For instance, if your contact doesn’t have a data plan, then the message will not be delivered until it is connected to a Wi-Fi network. Based on the number and color of the ticks, you will know if the WhatsApp message has been delivered or not.
- Single Tick (Grey) – Message sent from your mobile, but not delivered to the recipient.
- Double Tick (Grey) – Message delivered to the recipient, but not yet read.
- Double Tick (Blue) – Message delivered and read by the recipient.
Next, you need to understand what kind of occasions, you will get a single tick for your message:
- Internet not working/Poor network coverage
- Your contact has either changed the mobile number/phone
- Mobile is switched off/lost/broken
Hence, you cannot decide whether someone has blocked you on WhatsApp based on the number of ticks. Now, let’s move to the next step.
Step 2: Find “Last Seen” Info of Your Contact
When you open the chat window of any of your contact on WhatsApp, you will see a text something like “last seen X at 10.50 AM” where X represents the most recent day/date on which your contact has accessed the WhatsApp.
You cannot view the Last seen information of your contact on WhatsApp contact under the following scenario:
- Either you or your contact has set the value for Last seen to Nobody on the privacy settings for WhatsApp.
- Your contact has set the value for Last seen to My contacts and you are not added to his/her contact list.
- Your number has been blocked/deleted by your contact on WhatsApp.
Let’s assume that you got only a single tick for the message sent to your contact. Now, if you are lucky enough to view the last seen info for your contact, then just make a note of that time (These days a lot of people hide their last seen status). Then, find out the timestamp of the message you had sent earlier. Next, you need to compare both the timestamps.
If the last seen info shows a more recent time than the message sent time, then it is more likely that your contact has blocked you on WhatsApp. Because, even if your contact has not read your message, you should have got a double tick for your message instead of a single tick.
Step 3: Check The Profile Picture of Your Contact
You could not view the last seen info of your suspected contact? Don’t worry. Let’s check out the profile picture option. Now, if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, you will not be able to view the profile picture updates of that contact. i.e Your contact might have updated his/her profile picture to a new one which cannot be seen by you.
On all the given below criteria, the profile picture of your contact will be invisible to you:
- Your suspected contact has hidden his/her profile picture by setting the Profile photo to No one on the WhatsApp settings.
- If the setting Profile Photo is set to My contacts and your number is not listed in the contacts.
- Your number is blocked by your suspected contact.
- Your suspected contact had not set any profile picture.
You are not able to view the profile picture of your contact? No problem. Let’s try to find the WhatsApp status of your suspected contact.
Step 4: Check Your Contact’s WhatsApp Status
If someone has opened the WhatsApp messaging app on his/her device and the device has an internet connection, then you will see the text “online” below the name/number of the contact. This feature is always available and cannot be hidden by anyone. And, if your number is blocked by someone, then you will not see the text “online” for that contact anymore.
Step 5: Try to Add That Contact To A Group
You can’t believe that you have been blocked by someone on WhatsApp? Need more evidence?
First, create a new group in WhatsApp and add one or two members of your family/friends to that group. Now, try to add your suspected contact to the group. WhatsApp won’t allow you to add that member to the group because you are blocked by that contact. This clearly indicates that you are blocked by that person on WhatsApp.
Also Read: How to Create WhatsApp Group Invite Link
Can You Call If Someone Blocked You On WhatsApp?
You will not be able to call or send a message to someone on WhatsApp if you are blocked by that person. When you try to make a voice call, you may hear the ringing sound. However, the person who blocked you will not receive your call at all. (I tried this test by using two phones with WhatsApp installed on both the devices. I heard the ring on the phone which has the blocked number. However, I didn’t see any kind of notification on the other phone)
Related Read: How to Block Unknown Numbers on WhatsApp
How To Unblock If Someone Blocked You On WhatsApp?
Definitely, you cannot unblock your number by using any tricks/shortcuts/hacks. If you wish to be unblocked, then the best option will be to contact that person using alternate platforms like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc and directly ask the reason. You can also call that person on his/her mobile/landline number if needed. Otherwise, just move on with your contacts and forget about the contact who blocked your number on WhatsApp.
Do you know any other methods to find if someone blocked you on WhatsApp? Please share those on comments.